Midnight Mushroom Wraps

mush1

These things are so delish – I had to have another as a midnight snack while I worked. I don’t know if you eat mushrooms. I’ve always loved them but grew a distaste for them since Body Ecology kind of put the yuck stamp on them when I was all candida’d out. Now that I’ve gone and done the raw thing, my body can handle many more foods. And, I don’t have a problem (that I know of) with mushrooms. Especially when wrapped up in all of this goodness

Marinate 4 sliced portabella mushrooms and 2 small shaved onions in wheat-free tamari, red wine, garlic, marjoram, thyme, oregano, black pepper, cayenne, and a bit of basil and extra virgin olive oil.. for a good long time. Overnight would be good


Then, choose one of these nut cheese methods:


Quick Cashew Cheese:

1 bag raw cashews, 1/4 cup rejuvelac, juice of 1 lemon, 2 cloves garlic, 1/4 cup fresh chopped dill, chives, 1/4 of a red pepper, sea salt and blend in high power blender until creamy (add water if necessary)

Slow Cashew Cheese:

same as above, except skip the rejuvelac and ferment with a controlled starter and let sit in a closed jar at room temp. for 24 hours. You can then use cheesecloth over a bowl to drain out liquid in the fridge. I do it this way to ensure I am getting some good probugs for digestion and to avoid contamination by bad bacteria. I also add digestive enzymes to my nut cheeses for extra help in the gut.

Wrap it up

When you’re ready to make wrap — use marinade to soften a raw sprouted tortilla, pile in mushrooms, cashew cheese, fancy gluten free mustard, romaine lettuce, tomato, cucumber, red pepper slices, and nappa cabbage.

You can easily warm this up in oven or dehydrator before u add in mustard, cheese and toppings if you are serving people who are craving warm food.

image credit: Portabella by mj*laflaca

2 responses to “Midnight Mushroom Wraps

  1. Pingback: Vegan Fusion Guacamole Burger to Bliss Your Socks Off! « certified organic woman

  2. Pingback: Vegan Fusion Guacamole Burger to Bliss Your Socks Off! | things are brighter NOW

Leave a Reply

